Cindy Sheehan stands her ground as a conscientious tax objector

In January, Cindy Sheehan, the woman who camped out in front of George W. Bush’s ranch after her son was killed serving in the Iraq War, gave support to “Occupy the Rose Parade”. She spoke out against the crony capitalist system and ‘the robbing classes’, whilst also declaring her solidarity with the Occupy Movement, saying that her anti-war encampment at the Texas ranch was the original “Occupy,” and adding, “We should never forget the victims of the 1%.”:

Here is an extract from a recent post on her blog [from Feb 21st]:

It’s been stated by the perpetrators and proven repeatedly that the Bush regime manufactured and manipulated the “intelligence” to rush this nation and the people of Iraq headlong into disaster. My son and hundreds of thousands of other people still should be among the living. At this moment, I am only talking about the Bush years and Iraq but, this Empire has been out-of-control for generations—ask our indigenous people about that, if you can find any.

Let’s cut through all the bullshit.

There is no monetary value large enough that can be placed on a human life or the love of a mother for her child.

In the same post, which is entitled “Surprise, the US Attorney Has Filed a Law Suit Against You!”, Sheehan describes her response to a recent lawsuit filed on behalf of the IRS after eight years as a conscientious tax objector:

I consider that my debt to this country was paid in full when my son, Casey, was recklessly with no regard for his safety (remember the rush to war with the “Army you have” which was not properly trained or equipped?) murdered for the lies of a regime, whose members (Bush, Cheney, Rice, Rumsfeld, Yoo, Wolfowitz, Perle, etc.) roam around the world free and unfettered by threatening prosecutions or persecutions after committing war crimes, crimes against humanity, crimes against the peace, and high crimes and misdemeanors against our own Constitution. […]

It’s not a secret, and hasn’t been one for about 8 years now, that I am a conscientious tax objector. It’s also no secret that the IRS has been on my case about it recently.

So, tonight I was having coffee at a local restaurant with an activist/friend and we were chatting about some very sensitive issues when a man wearing a blue long-sleeved shirt and tie approached our table. I thought that it might be the manager of the restaurant but he said, “Hi Cindy, I am Cornell from Channel 10 News in Sacramento.” […]

Cornell informed me that he was there to talk to me about the “lawsuit that the US attorney filed against you in Federal Court.” Turns out that the lawsuit is on behalf of the IRS and that was not the first time that I found out something important about my life from the media. […]

After the interview with Cornell was over, he said to me, “you appear so calm, most people would be freaking out if the US Attorney filed a lawsuit against them.” I replied, “Cornell, what are they going to do to me? Kill another one of my children (god forbid)? I had the worst thing happen to me that could happen to any mother and I am still standing.”

Leave a comment

Filed under analysis & opinion, campaigns & events, Uncategorized, USA

Leave a Reply

